Gallery

Travel Literature as Antidote to Travel Burnout

Although many travelers come back home feeling recharged after a week-long escapade in the jungles or in a far-flung mountain, many others retreat into their inner shells feeling drained and exhausted. Travelers must be kind to themselves, no matter which category they may fall in. Long journeys are not always a form of pampering nor are they always marvelously energizing. Often, adventures lead to wonderful stories, exhilarating feelings, and artistic outputs. And that is good!  However, there are times, when positive feelings are absent, and the much-awaited stories are left in the dustbin until the once wide-eyed traveler picks himself up.

So, what’s the antidote to this poisonous bummer? There are many, and this is just one of the things that will perk up a sleeping traveler like triple-shot espresso:

TRAVEL LITERATURE!

Yes, reading travelogues is the caffeine of globetrotters like me. I’ve just come back from Malaysia but I am not experiencing travel burnout yet. Hooray! But I was quick to understand that I must not allow myself to have travel burnout just yet, even if I knew that it might be inevitable at times. Everyone will eventually tire out. 18-hour bus rides? Deafening karaoke music at a bar next to your cheap hostel? Punishing heat from the grilling sun and the humid air that apparently stops your sweat from evaporating? You get it. Not everything is pleasant. So, when I got home, I made sure I had picked up at least three magazines from the airplane and the airport’s bookstore.

Woe to you who have just returned from Malaysia and are now planning for another trip.

Yes, woe to me…

But I don’t care. 😛

This issue of Action Asia focuses on biking!

This issue of Action Asia focuses on biking!

Philippine mountains + Gunung Kinabalu for this issue of VIEW

Philippine mountains + Gunung Kinabalu for this issue of VIEW

I smiled when I read it was a complimentary copy.

I smiled when I read it was a complimentary copy of Cebu Pacific’s in-flight magazine Smile.

In my next articles, I shall be recounting several seeds from my trip to Kota Kinabalu in Malaysia last week. Keep yourselves posted especially if you intend to visit this immaculate city of emerald mountains bisected by serpentine roads and lined by lapis lazuli waters along its coast.

Sincerely,

Pinoy Joie de Vivre

Leave a Reply

